May the bridges I have burned light my way back home

You were never into Fall Out Boy, you said. You didn’t understand my obsession with Patrick’s facial expressions. And your face always hesitantly cringed the few times I brought them up.

Now you have blogged a saying that this band used as part of their lyrics. To this song that once got me through the first months when we ripped each other apart, and away. I wonder if you have heard this. For it was consoling the way I imagined you were speaking to me through the persona of the song. The persona is very harsh, very selfish, very honest. To the one he is speaking to, at least, if not to himself.

Nevertheless, I want to know.

Am I your favorite what if? Am I the best you’ll never know?

Leave a Reply

