Dear D (1)

You once told me Churchill read a book every night during the war. I told you I haven’t been reading recently. Then you won’t win the war, you said.

I’m now starting Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five. I think it is anti-war. Often, I don’t have any idea what the book is about until I’m reading it. You said this made me “authentic.”

I guess that’s better than “pathetic.” Did I tell you the time I talked to a German woman in an 8-hour plus ride about Umberto Eco and I let slip the word postmodern? I think you’d find it funny.

 

Leave a Reply

