Always Buffy

Tara: Buffy, I-I promise, there’s nothing wrong with you.
Buffy: There has to be! This just can’t be me, it isn’t me. Why do I feel like this? Why do I let Spike do those things to me?
Tara: You mean hit you. Oh. Oh, huh. Really.
Buffy: He’s everything I hate. He’s everything that… I’m supposed to be against. But the only time that I ever feel anything is when… Don’t tell anyone, please.
Tara: I won’t.
Buffy: The way they would look at me… I just couldn’t…
Tara: I won’t tell anyone. I wouldn’t do that.
Buffy: Why can’t I stop? Why do I keep letting him in?
Tara: Do you love him? I-It’s okay if you do. He’s done a lot of good, and, and he does love you. A-and Buffy, it’s okay if you don’t. You’re going through a really hard time, and you’re…
Buffy: What? Using him? What’s okay about that?
Tara: It’s not that simple.
Buffy: It is! It’s wrong. I’m wrong. Tell me that I’m wrong, please… Please don’t forgive me, please… Please don’t… Please don’t forgive me.

– Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Dead Things

Leave a Reply

